Skip to Content

How To Turn On Share Across Devices

How To Turn On Share Across Devices

How To Turn On Share Across Devices

To turn on share across devices make sure Share Across Devices is enabled and that you are signed in with the same Apple ID on each device in order to share your Screen Time settings and reports across all of your devices. Go to Screen Time under Settings. Share Across Devices can be enabled by scrolling down.

When you set up and/or first activate Focus on any of your Apple devices, Focus will also activate Share Between Devices options at the same time. Or, you can disable Share Across Devices from the Mac, which prevents your Mac from receiving Focus Mode state from any of your Apple devices, including your iPhone. As discussed earlier, you can also stop your Mac (running macOS 12 Monterey or higher) from receiving Focus mode changes from other devices connected to your Apple Account.

Turning off Focus Mode will disable the feature on all devices, and it is displayed via a push notification delivered to any device connected to your iCloud in real-time. Once the feature is turned off, users can configure different focus modes per device via Control Center. Apples focus modes are a way of filtering and managing incoming notifications with both configurable and pre-set guidelines, but it may be necessary to set different focus modes on each device – and that is possible with some tweaking.

You can schedule or even automate Focus Modes, and you can share them between iOS devices. Whether More…Focus is for work or at home, driving, exercising, reading, creative time, sleeping, or whatever, you can build a customized set of filters to control the way notifications, calls, messages, and auto replies function on your iPhone.

By default, focus modes are linked to a users iCloud account, meaning that the notification filters are synchronized between different devices. By default, Share on devices under Focus should be enabled, but if you are still getting notifications or messages on some devices while Focus mode is enabled on others, use the steps below to configure Focus to sync on all your devices. Synchronized means your focus mode settings do not transfer across devices in the household, even when added as family members to your Apple ID.

By default, if you set up focus mode on an iPhone, it will sync to other Apple devices, as long as they are added as a family member under the same Apple Account. If you enable Focus on your iPhone, it will be enabled on all your other devices, although you can disable it by going into Settings > Focus > and turning Off Shared on all devices. To use the Focus once it is been configured, you can either enable it from the Control Center, or you can set it to turn on automatically.

The core parts of a Focus include silencing alerts and notifications, selecting which apps and people you really want to have access to/send alerts to, and setting the time when you want this Focus turned on/off (you can even manually toggle these on/off).

Check out how to turn on share across devices

By following the instructions in this tutorial, you should be able to quarantine your focus settings across all of your devices. You will also be able to manage which apps can access Focus status in the section of your Function Settings. In this case, you can still tap Focus Status to get more info on that feature in the following screen.

You can disable this share function from within the settings menu for any Focus by tapping your Focus status and tapping on the toggle. If you would like to hide your Focus status from certain people, you can disable sharing right in their profile. When you enable sharing of your Focus status, the person messaging you will see you silence notifications, but not what Focus you are using.

You can always disable sharing by going into Settings/iCloud/Share my Location; this option lets you define which household members can and cannot see your location. Users who are concerned with their privacy regarding location can disable the feature on their iPhones by going to Settings/iCloud and switching the “Find my iPhone” option to “Off”. If Find My Phone is turned on in a devices settings, users can locate the devices location by accessing iCloud services.

If iCloud Drive is used, you can also access the same documents or apps on other devices using the same Apple ID. If you would like the data on both iPhone and iPad in sync, use Settings > iCloud to sync all of your devices at all times. As long as your iPhone and iPad are connected to the Internet and share the same iCloud settings–and you log into them using the same Apple ID–they stay synced.

Open the Settings app on either device, tap on your name to bring up an Apple ID screen, and choose Settings > iCloud. What to Know On every device, head to Settings > iCloud > toggle which app categories and content you would like synced with iCloud.

You will want to make sure to check to make sure that iCloud sync is enabled on all the affected devices that you wish to sync. Needless to say, you will need iCloud sync enabled on your devices in order for this functionality to work. Without iCloud servers, the focus modes you have in place cannot be synced between all your Apple devices.

Once Shared across devices is turned off, your Mac will no longer sync your focus state to your other Apple devices, and you can change it freely without worrying that this affects those devices focus state. If you have more than one Apple device, your Focus will be synchronized between them all, so you will not have to create a new one for each gadget.

Apple cuts down data use over a metered connection by disabling these features in the background, and this may be another reason your Focus Mode refuses to sync across your other devices. Be the one who decides who gets access to your time and attention, turning on sharing for selected individuals and customizing Focus settings.

Under Settings/Privacy, you can enable or disable apps to access other information on your device. There are a number of settings in the iPhone itself to let you manage information access on the device. You can choose to silence notifications, or only allow notifications from people and apps that align with your focus: For example, set a “Work focus” and allow notifications from just coworkers and apps you need to get work done.

If they are not, either they are not signed into the same Apple ID on the affected device, or the device is having issues communicating with the iCloud syncing servers.

Why can’t I turn on share across devices?

Let’s try signing out and then back into your Apple ID to see if that helps. If you’re still having trouble enabling Share Across Devices. You need to navigate to Settings > [your name] > Sign Out to log out. You’ll need to Sign in with your Apple ID once more after this is finished.

Why isn’t it letting me turn on share across devices?

Let’s try signing out and then back into your Apple ID to see if that helps. If you’re still having trouble enabling Share Across Devices. You need navigate to Settings > [your name] > Sign Out to log out. You’ll need to Sign in with your Apple ID once more after this is finished.

What does it mean to share across devices?

Users have the option to “Share Across Devices,” which allows you to add these controls to additional devices that you’ve configured with your iCloud account. The fact that parents can now use these capabilities on their own device that a child uses, a family iPad, or a child’s device that you have set up, makes this a very significant breakthrough.