Skip to Content

Reset All Settings Iphone

Reset All Settings Iphone

Reset All Settings iPhone

Reset all settings in an iPhone comprises of two things; reset all network settings, and reset all settings. The former includes the removal of all network settings while latter is focused on removing or moving back to default of all the keyboard, location, Apple Pay card, privacy, and all network settings.

If you go into your Apple iPhones restore menu, there is another option just below Reset All Settings, called Erase All Contents & Settings. Well, based on my own experience, I found that Reset All Settings button is a replacement for rebooting the Apple iPhone if you are facing repeated system errors with your device.

Resetting All Settings on an iPhone restores your device back to the original factory settings, which includes the reset of all apps, default settings, and other data. Once you have completed the recovery process–a process that can take up to several minutes–check to make sure that your phone has been restored to its original factory settings. You will need to sign into your iPhone and configure it from scratch after your iPhone has been reset.

Factory resets ensure the next person gets a device without any of your data or settings. Resets remove all networking settings, returning them to their factory defaults. All network settings will reset once your iPhones Passcode is entered.

All you need to do is head into General settings, select Reset Network, and type in your passcode. Once you are done with resetting network settings, open up your iPhones Settings app to connect to your Wi-Fi network and pair your Bluetooth devices. From your home screen, choose the Settings app > Scroll down and choose General > Transfer or Reset iPhone > Select Reset > Reset network settings > Select Reset Network settings again to confirm.

To do this, tap on the Home Screens primary Settings icon, choose iCloud, and tap Find my iPhone. Open the Settings app on your iPhone, and tap on your name and Apple ID near the top of the screen.

You have successfully restored the settings to your iPhone, and can now begin customizing it from the beginning, if you would like. After you restore a specific setting, your iPhone loses its associated customisations and goes back to its default settings — just as it did when you took the new iPhone out of the box (or after the complete wipe). From this menu, you can choose what settings you want to revert back to default.

Resetting is fairly simple to accomplish, and you can do it from within the Settings section of your iPhone by tapping just a few times. While the restore will not erase all content stored on your iPhone, doing a data backup is always a wise step, since you might never know when you are about to hit the button that can cause significant data loss. Before starting the process of resetting your iPhone, it is essential that you backup any and all your data so that you do not lose your critical information.

While backing up your iPhone is not required, doing it will save your photos, apps, contacts, settings, and other data, so that you can restore your other iOS devices automatically from a backup later. In fact, backing up is the only way you will ever be able to take advantage of your iCloud backup, since this option appears only once your iPhone is setup. If you had an older iTunes backup, you can restore your backup after setting up iPhone.

Before factory restoring your iPhone, be sure to backup the iPhone first, so that you can restore data afterward. Just be sure to backup your iPhone before resetting any important settings, this way, you will always have a backup if anything goes wrong. In this case, it is not essential for you to backup your iPhone, since the resetting of all settings does not cause data to be lost.

Learn about the safest way to restart my iPhone

This will restore all settings back to defaults and wipe out any data stored on the device, including your contacts, messages, and music. When you do the Reset Settings action, your iPhone returns the Network settings, Keyboard Dictionary, Location settings, and Privacy settings to the default values of the Network settings.

If you need to restore the original iPhone privacy and location settings, you might want to consider a reset. Resetting different settings on an iPhone may occasionally help resolve a random malfunction or problem that you might experience, but this may be quite an extreme measure. If you are experiencing issues on an iPhone, such as freezing or malfunctioning, returning your device to the factory settings can solve the problem.

Sometimes, when you are experiencing certain issues, you can get it reset to the factory settings of the iPhone. While there are other ways of fixing the usual problems in the iPhone, sometimes, the only remaining option is a reset. When updates are failing, or your cellular data and Wi-Fi are not working, devices cannot connect to your iPhones Bluetooth, and you are experiencing similar issues when you are logging onto the Web, resetting your network settings can be helpful.

You should make note of your network settings and Wi-Fi password, because the reset will cause the device to forget its Wi-Fi connection. Because of the reset, be sure you have a way of finding your Wi-Fi passwords saved to the network in your Apple iPhone.

The features Reset All Settings and Erase All Content and Settings may be difficult to distinguish, but know this: While Reset All Settings will preserve data on Apples iPhone, erase will erase the entire iPhone. Now that you know the major differences between Reset All Settings and Erase All Content, you should know how to restore or delete all the contents of the iPhone, as there are a few issues your iPhone may face which may cause it to malfunction.

For the recovery, you will need a computer and an unlocked iPhone. If your iPhone is stuck, unresponsive, locked in boot cycle, or slow, you may want to try resetting the iPhone back to the factory settings (known as hard-reset) to how it was when you took it out of the box. If done properly, you will once again be presented with the iOS setup assistant when booting, from which you can then either restore your iPhone from a backup, or proceed the process as if setting it up again.

How do I reset my iPhone without losing everything?

Ensure that vital information has been backed up. Continue setting up your iPhone until you reach the reset screen. Then on your phone, select “Restore from iCloud Backup.” To restore the backup from an account, enter its Apple ID and password.

What does it mean if I reset all settings?

Your data is removed from the phone after a factory data reset. All apps and the data they contain will be uninstalled, however, data that is stored in your Google Account can be restored. Check to see if your data is in your Google Account so you may restore it.

Does resetting iPhone delete photos?

In addition to any credit or debit cards you added for Apple Pay, any images, contacts, music, or apps, your device is totally erased when you select Erase All Content and Settings. Additionally, it will disable other services including Game Center, iCloud, iMessage, and FaceTime.